27th Annual Alumnae Awards Celebration


Katie Arnold and Lauren Eugenio

On Wednesday, February 1st, the 27th Annual Alumnae Awards Celebration was held at the Mellwood Art Center to honor the recipients of the awards. Family, nominators, and recipients gathered to celebrate the accomplishments of the winners.

After recipients and guests finished eating, the ceremony began. Between each award were videos of the winner and their nominator produced by The Rune Staff. The first award was the Honorary Diploma.

The Honorary Diploma Award was given to Leigh Ann Frost Saylor class of 1983. This award is given to an individual whose devotion to Sacred Heart Academy is equal to completing the requirements for a diploma.

The next awards given were the Heart Awards.

The Heart award is given to Sacred Heart graduates or individuals who live out the value of service in their community and at SHA. These individuals have devoted a tremendous amount of time by giving selflessly to serve the needs of others. The first recipients of the night were Cindy Kosse Allison class of 1981 and Rob Allison. The second recipient of the heart award was Judy Watson Gordon class of 1976. The third and last recipient of the heart award was Dr. Karen Cassidy class of 1974.

After the Heart Award was the Valkyrie Hall of Fame Award.

The Valkyrie Hall of Fame award is given to former SHA athlete or coach who performed in a varsity sport and shows true sportsmanship to family and community. The first recipient of the Hall of Fame award was Leslie Bender. The second recipient was Chancellor Dugan class of 1977. The third recipient was Ellen Gregory class of 2005. The fourth and last recipient of the Hall of Fame award was Betsy Jones.

Next was the Ursuline Teaching Legacy Award.

The recipient of the Ursuline Teaching Legacy Award was Kathy Popham Goyette class of 1967. This Award was established in March of 2008 to honor the Ursuline Sisters’ 150th anniversary of teaching in Louisville. This award is given to an alumna who has dedicated 20 or more years to teaching. Goyette taught at SHA for 16 years and many more prior to SHA.

The final, and highest award was the Alumna of the Year Award.

The Alumna of the Year Award was given to Mary Jo Wolford class of 1969. This award of highest honor is given to an alumna who has contributed significantly to her community and enriched the lives of those around her. As a graduate of SHA, her outstanding accomplishments bring distinction to the school and the strong foundation it fosters in young women.

After a speech by Mary Jo Wolford, everyone participated in the singing of “Dear Sacred Heart”.

Nomination forms for the 2018 Honorees will be available in the summer issue of the Heartbeat and posted under the SHA alumnae section on the website at shslou.org.